I Talk Consolidation, MLB Talks Realignment

If you scroll down to a couple of posts back, you will find a post in which I suggest that the Oakland A’s franchise be dissolved due to the team’s underperforming nature. As you could probably gather from that post, I am a fan of consolidation in MLB, but I know that the odds of that happening are about 1,000,000,000 to 1. However, I did find a news article on ESPN.com today that was of interest. MLB may not be thinking consolidation at this time, but they are thinking realignment.

Currently, the American and National Leagues are uneven, with 14 teams in the AL and 16 teams in the NL. Apparently, in current labor talks between the league and the players’ association, evening the leagues to 15 teams apiece has been frequently mentioned. An even more radical idea that has been proposed is that the leagues are even and divisions are abolished altogether, leaving the 15 teams in each league to fight for one of five league playoff spots.

As much as I advocate change in terms of consolidation, I’m not quite sure purpose what this sort of realignment would serve. No teams would be eliminated, and the current system is working relatively well. However, the idea of such a drastic change in MLB is intriguing, and I’m looking forward to seeing if this idea can gain momentum throughout the league.

4 comments

  1. southernbelle

    I don’t really see a point to realignment, either. I like Divisions! It’s more exciting having to fight it out in the AL East – or the AL Central for your boys. And then that extra Wild Card thing….not in love with that. The game really is going to change i guess…it’s inevitable.
    -Virginia
    http://southernbelle.mlblogs.com

  2. This is a very simple game...

    I saw the same article. I would not like realgnment of this sort at all, because you would either have interleague play every day, or even more double headers than would be good for the players and this from a fan of double headers. However, I would find it amusing if they did realign the teams in this fashion beecause when MLB added the D-Backs and the Rays, they moved the Brewers to the National League in order to avoid this very same scenario they are now proposing to create. 🙂
    — Kristen

  3. Red State Blue State

    Ordinarily, I hate change, but I think this should get consideration. Look at the AL East. Baltimore and Toronto, though playing pretty well, have no shot at the playoffs. No shot. But if they were in the NL Central, they’d be in a division race right now. I think a new system will eliminate the unfairness of geography.

Leave a comment